ehs logo
Integration of Radiation Safety Office with
Environmental Health & Safety

Dear Colleagues:

We would like to inform you of several changes affecting the joint Radiation Safety Office (RSO) of Columbia University Medical Center (CUMC), New York-Presbyterian Hospital (NYPH) and New York State Psychiatric Institute (NYSPI).  Effective January 7, 2010, the RSO has become part of the University’s Office of Environmental Health and Safety (EH&S) under the leadership of Kathleen Crowley, the Associate Vice President for EH&S.  We are creating a new position of Executive Director of Radiation Safety who will oversee all activities pertaining to radiation safety across the University, NYPH and NYSPI.  We will be initiating a national search for the Executive Director and hope to fill the position as soon as possible. 

After many years of dedicated service, Salmen Loksen has stepped down as Director of the RSO.  We wish him well in his future endeavors.

During the search for an Executive Director, George Hamawy, who has been the Radiation Safety Officer for the Morningside, Nevis and Lamont campuses, and Barnard College, for the past fourteen years, will serve as interim Radiation Safety Officer for CUMC, NYPH and NYSPI.  George is certified by the American Board of Scientists in Nuclear Medicine in Radiochemistry and in Nuclear Pharmacy.

The operations of Environmental Health and Safety at CUMC and Environmental Health and Radiation Safety at the other campuses, which had previously existed as separate offices, have been consolidated since 2005.  We believe that bringing the RSO under EH&S will assure consistency in the application of University policies and governmental regulations and better coordination with respect to the management of our radiation safety programs and the delivery of services to investigators.

Kathleen Crowley has served CUMC and NYPH for many years.  Prior to becoming Associate Vice President for EH&S in 2005, she served as Director of Environmental Health and Safety at CUMC from 1999-2005 and Director of the Occupational Health Service at NYPH from 1992-1999.  She is a graduate of SUNY Stony Brook and has a MPH from the Mailman School of Public Health.

At this point of transition in the RSO, we would like to reaffirm our commitment to maintaining the highest standards of research using radiation at CUMC, NYPH and NYSPI, as well as the safety and well-being of our patients, visitors, students, faculty, staff and the community at large.

David Brenner, Ph.D, D.Sc
Director, CUMC Center for Radiological Research             
Chair, Joint Radiation Safety Committee and Radioactive Drug Research Committee

David Hirsh, Ph.D
Executive Vice President for Research

Lisa Hogarty
Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, CUMC